The heart

A couple of months ago, I read a book by Kathleen Norris called “The Cloisture Walk.” It was awesome. She is a married (well now widowed) Protestant woman who spends several months at a time living in a Benedictine monastery.

She is a delightful writer, deep thinker and widely read herself so she draws on the saints of old.
One particular quote resonated with me again as I re-read it this morning. It’s attributed to Psuedo-Macarius, a fourth century monk:

“The heart is but a small vessel, yet dragons are there, and there are also lions; there are poisonous beasts and all the treasures of evil. But there too is God, the angels, the life and the kingdom, the light and the apostles, the heavenly cities and the treasures of grace – all things are there.”

I feel like a living paradox much of the time…I give voice to those dragons, but I give voice to Jesus too. Oh that the kingdom would grow in and around me…
Thanks Jesus for the great cloud of witnesses, thanks for your spirit that is transforming us, thanks for your deep deep love and wide wide mercy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The heart

  1. Sara says:

    I would like to submit that you are a delightful writer… and that I really want to read this book. Thanks for sharing friend.

  2. Terri says:

    I would like to also add to Sara’s comment that we need a coffee date soon.

Leave a Reply

